A New Year

We survived 2014 and now we have 2015 before us. What will happen? Will it be a good year? I hope so.

We didn’t do anything special for the New Year. We celebrated quietly and just enjoyed watching DVD’s (Downton Abbey) and hanging out around the house. It was a nice way to ring in the New Year. All of us have been so sick and I know next year we can celebrate differently. My daughter loves to celebrate by fixing a nice meal, but honestly, we were all just too sick. I’m going to suggest to her that we celebrate a big dinner or buffet once we’ve all recuperated. I’m sure she’ll be thrilled to get back into the kitchen, whipping up a big feast. She’s got culinary talents, that one!

My laptop decided to die off on me New Year’s Eve. We couldn’t figure out what on earth was the matter with it. It’s only 2 years old, so it shouldn’t have anything wrong with it. To make a long story short, they plugged it in at the repair shop and it fired right up. This was after no light, not turning on……..nothing happening here at the house. The tech said it “must have taken a hit” and just needed rebooted. I had no clue that a power cord to a laptop would need (or even could be) rebooted. Evidently, it did and does take hits from the fluctuation in power surges from the outlet. Color me simple. I hadn’t the faintest idea.

My youngest son called home last night and asked if he could stay out extra late. He’s a good kid, so we talked it over and decided to let him spend the night at his brother’s place. We were supposed to have a bad icy front come through last night. Rather than have my son drive through it, I suggested he stay with his brother. He’s old enough to know what’s right. I don’t approve of my oldest son’s choices sometimes, but I know they have to grow up sooner or later. Anyway, my youngest was so excited to go. He packed a quick overnight bag and left out. We prayed and let it go.

This morning I woke up and turned on the coffeepot. As I was walking past my son’s room, I noticed the light was on. I assumed my daughter had turned it on or my son had left it on last night before he left out. I was wrong on both accounts. There sat my son in his room, playing games and enjoying his time at home. When I asked what was going on, he replied that his brother was still sound asleep and he was bored, so he came home. This is why I think he will be okay. He isn’t perfect, but he does have a good head on his shoulders. Needless to say, I was glad he was home, and I’m also thankful that the weather hasn’t turned off nasty yet. It’s just raining. They say it will turn to a rain/snow mixture around 8 p.m. and then after a couple of hours of that, it will turn to all snow. I can definitely handle snow. Icy rain, not so much.

Well, I suppose I had better get a move on. We’re going to rearrange the living room today and I’m going to bathe the dogs. I suppose I will have to get them good and dry with this awful cold front moving in. Hope everyone has a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

