Sunday blessings (easy recipes included!)

I’m sitting here today, enjoying my blessings. So much to be grateful for. There are hard things, true, but today I’m hoping to focus on the good things!

Last night I made salmon loaf, macaroni and cheese and green beans for dinner. Salmon loaf is a family favorite here. My mother made it when I was a little girl. I’ve grown up with it and I love it. It’s such a simple recipe. I also made Gooey Chocolate Cream Cake. It’s a poke cake and so deliciously moist, it’s not funny! It’s also very rich and very good! I rarely make them because they are so decadent! I will post recipes for both at the end of my post.

We have been gorging ourselves on Downton Abbey episodes! We’re close to the end of season 4 and season 5 starts on PBS tonight. I can’t wait! I’m so looking forward to seeing more. I must admit that I really love the whole British way of life. It’s not what most would like, but I find it fascinating. I would love to move to Scotland. We have Scottish and Irish blood on my side. My kids always tease me that I’m too Irish because I have green eyes and I’m fair-skinned. I suppose that’s why I’m so crazy about knitting, too.

My daughter just helped my hubby get his new tablet set up. He is so excited to have the latest technology. I’m happy for him. I know he has wanted one for a long time. I’ve been doing my best not to smile while he learns how to navigate it. I’m so glad he is enjoying it.

I’ve been doing a lot of cooking lately. I’m making sausage, biscuits and gravy for dinner tonight. I’m anxious to make something warm and tasty, like beef stew or chicken and dumplings. I usually make a huge pan of fried rice and I haven’t done that in awhile. I think the cold weather has inspired me. I’m also thinking about making blackberry cobbler!

We’ve had a cold front move in. It rained yesterday and was very cold. I woke up this morning to snow on the ground. It was just a dusting of it, but it is so cold. Maybe that’s why I’m so eager to cook something warm! I’m hoping it will take the chill off! We had the house so warm last night from baking that we had to open the house up to cool it off!

My boys are off to the big city to play games with their friends today. It’s just me, hubby and our daughter today. I’m not sure what we’ll get up to today. We’ll probably just sit around and watch Downton Abbey and rest. I’m trying to get the laundry caught up, too, so I’ll be folding clothes while watching.

I’m really loving the lower prices on gas! I have thought about going places and doing things now that I can fill up my gas hog without breaking the bank. I would love to go to St Louis and goof off for a couple of days. I haven’t been there in ages. I want to take a couple of days to just soak in a hot tub and swim. I might plan a trip in the spring. I don’t know. Have to see what dh wants to do.

Here are the promised recipes:

Salmon Loaf

2 cans of salmon, remove the skin and bones

2 cans of cream of mushroom soup

2-3 sleeves of regular Saltine crackers, crushed fine

4 eggs

Mix together well. Pour into a 13×9 pan and bake at 350* for 45 min or until brown on top. Serve warm.

(I serve this with ketchup on the side.)

Gooey Chocolate Cream Cake

1 pkg. of devil’s food cake mix, mixed according to the directions  (you can use any chocolate cake mix, actually)

1 can Cream of Coconut  (used to make mixed drinks, but it is non-alcoholic)

1 can Cream Cheese frosting

After making the cake according to the directions, let it sit and cool. Poke holes all over the top of the cake. Open the can of Cream of Coconut and pour into a bowl to mix well. Pour over the cake, being sure to pour into as many holes as possible. Let it absorb into the cake and then frost with Cream Cheese frosting. Serve warm.

Well, I guess I should scoot off of here and get busy on this house. Be safe and warm!

Leave a Reply

