The Day After

Happy belated St. Patrick’s Day! I celebrated by going to my lys (local yarn shop) and buying more hanks of yarn! I have decided that I might possibly have a serious addiction to the stuff. I cannot seem to help myself! Pretty colors and luscious soft fibres call to my knitting passion as I walk through the door of the shop.

Yesterday I went to my local yarn shop for the special they were having on yarn. They had the most beautiful colors for sock yarn! I’m going to go back next week and see about getting some more yarn. I’m trying to build my yarn stash back up, after having given away a lot of it.

This is what I got: My new sock yarn It’s kind of hard to see the colors, but I’ll take a better pic when I start working it into spring socks. I cannot wait! I have to finish the set of socks I’m on now though. Maybe I can get a pic later this week. We’ll see.

This is the set of socks I’m working on now:

Peacock sock Peacock heel turn

A bit of advice………….never try to do a heel turn when you’re really stressed out or upset. I am less than thrilled with the amount of time I wasted last night, trying to get the heel to make sense to me. I woke up this morning and it flowed together beautifully!

Finally caved and called the dog groomer yesterday. She can squeeze the dogs in Monday afternoon. Daisy is looking like a sheep dog instead of the gorgeous Maltie-Poo that she is. They’re both ready for a trim. My Yorkie needs some serious trimming, too.

Would you believe my Christmas tree is still up!?! I need to get it down. I’m going to do it before next week! Hoping to get it done Saturday, but have to see what the kids have going. They’ll have to help me get it down. We’re going to put the dog crate where the tree was. I’ve been doing a lot of spring cleaning and that’s one thing I’ve wanted to do…………move their dog crate!

Well, I don’t think this sock is going to knit itself, so I had better get back to knitting!

2 thoughts on “The Day After

    1. It’s actually not difficult at all. Do you have a local yarn store? If you do, they can help you turn the heel. It’s not that bad at all. It’s just doing short rows! If you don’t have a local yarn shop, you can look on Youtube and they have TONS of videos on how to do it! Socks are wonderful! I would suggest that you buy fingering weight yarn for socks and not just the sock yarn you get from JoAnn’s or Michael’s or Wal-Mart. Fingering weight is just so much more nice for socks. The heavier yarns are just too bulky for my taste.

Leave a Reply

