Back in the swing of things!

Life has been hectic. Running at breakneck speed to get everything done and dealing with the ups and downs along the way has worn on me. I’ve taken a break from blogging for a time, but I’m getting back into the swing of things.

We’ve been trying to get our remodeling work done. It’s been a slow process. Once we do one thing, something else needs done immediately. It’s been a battle from the start. I finally have new flooring in the kitchen. wpid-20150726_203315.jpg  There is a bit of a glare, but you can see that it’s got a reddish tint to it. Must be my Scottish side coming out! 😉  It’s wonderful to have new flooring, however, it meant cleaning everything in the kitchen and one of the things I decided to do was tear into the cabinets! I took everything out and scrubbed them down good! Once that was done, I replaced all the yucky liner paper and put in some wonderful new liners. It’s more functional and so much more aesthetically pleasing! (fancy words for, “It looks purty!”)

I finished the purple Cleo Tones cowl and it came out great. I have a red one on the needles wpid-20150813_203529.jpg and a grey one  I’ve started for my daughter’s Christmas gift soon. I am having to sneak time in the mornings (while she sleeps) to work on it. I’ve just cast it on and *might* have 2 rows on it. Once those two cowls are done, I have a blue one to do. I am going to be so sick of the Cleo Tones cowl! I love the pattern and the way the yarn works up, but I am beyond ready to finish these!

Hubby and I have decided getting sick is fun. (tongue-in-cheek) We’re both down with the allergy/sinus mess. I’ll be glad when the pollen is gone! A good rain would wash it out of the air, but so far, it’s been hot, dry, and windy! I’m ready for winter! Bring on the snow!

I’ve been working on the Summery Diagonal Baby Blanket a little. wpid-20150802_200651.jpg  I can’t remember the name of the yarn, but I don’t care for it much. It’s very fuzzy and splits easily. I normally don’t mind that and have even knit with boucle, without a problem, but this annoys me for some reason. I’m not too sure about the way the pattern goes either. It doesn’t have a definitive corner, but rather starts on 4 or 5 stitches. I may have to do something different. Not sure if I’m going to rip it out and start over or not. I will probably rip it. If something bothers me, I usually fix it.

wpid-20150801_202259.jpg This is the finished Calypso shawl, done in Knit Picks Stroll fingering weight yarn in the Sweetie color way. It looks so lovely on my daughter! She makes everything look good though. 😉

I will be back to post more this weekend, Lord willin’ and the creeks don’t rise! Hope you’ve had a wonderful summer!

2 thoughts on “Back in the swing of things!

Leave a Reply

