Changes

There are changes coming to our homestead. I’m excited and a little nervous!

Outside my window…………it’s sunny and cold. The high is supposed to climb to 60 today, but for now, it’s only 38 degrees. The wind is making it feel like it’s colder. I’m hoping to get some yard work done later this week, so it needs to warm up!

Around the house…………….my son is sound asleep (worked late shift last night) and my daughter is getting ready for the day. My fur baby, Daisy Doodle, is sound asleep and I am typing away. My hubby is off at work, but got a late start this morning. He overslept! That never happens. I guess he was just exhausted from this weekend.

I’m reading………………..some excellent books by Debbie Macomber. (sp?) One of them is about having a single word for the entire year. I’m not sure if she says the Lord gave her the word (like patience, trust, or hope) or if she picked a word out. It’s been an interesting read.  I’m hoping to get my hands on some knitting books by Elizabeth Zimmerman. I’ll have to check it out when I go to the library next.

I’m hoping…………….to get a lot accomplished this week. I’ve been tearing through the house, trying to get rid of anything we don’t use or want. I am going down to bare bones. It’s so much easier to clean house if you don’t have clutter! It’s also easier to move if you don’t have to pack up boxes and boxes of clutter!

I’m thankful………………..for all of the changes that are coming our way. My daughter will be in school this fall and she’s looking forward to it. I’m going to see if I can find a job and, hopefully, we will be able to get some things done to the house before we move.

I’m thinking……………..I’ve talked forever about moving. It’s always been a given that we’re going to move. I haven’t known when the Lord is going to move us or how, but we’ve always known it was going to happen. It seems that things are finally falling into place for us to move and there is an anticipation that it’s going to happen soon. I’d like for my daughter to make it through her classes, but after a semester, I think it’s going to happen. I AM SO READY FOR THIS! That leaves me this summer and part of fall to get things in order. Time for me to get busy!

My knitting projects……………..right now I’m working on a bunch of dishcloths, hats and thinking seriously about casting on a pair of socks and some dish towels! I’ve done several hats to donate to a local charity. I’m trying to use up as much yarn as I can from my stash so we don’t have to box it up and move it. I can always replenish the stash once we’ve moved. 😉

From the kitchen……………..roast and veggies in the crockpot, chicken fried steak with gravy and mashed potatoes, and green beans………spaghetti and meatballs (in the crockpot), crockpot lasagna, chicken and dumplin’s, Santa Fe stew (crockpot) and chili (cook the burger, then throw it and the rest of the mixin’s in the crockpot on low. We usually have leftovers for lunch, so that should get us through the week. Just need to figure out breakfast stuff. I’ve got the typical bacon/sausage and eggs thing down, just need something else. Maybe pancakes or waffles and I’m thinking of trying out a new recipe for breakfast casserole. (eggs, ham or whatever meat you want, cheese, onions and mushrooms, etc.)  Have to see if I can find any inspiring ideas online!

A few plans for the week…………….I’m going through as much of the house as I can to get rid of stuff. I’m working hard on getting it pared down and I’m hoping to be able to work in the yard some, too. Might save the yard work for the weekend. We’re also moving the piano out of the house and rearranging our bedroom. I’m not sure how that will all work out, but it should be fun!

Leave a Reply

